Governors and Directors Generals

Vai alla versione italiana Site Search

The Bank of Italy was established in 1893 by Law No. 449 of 10 August, 1893, and and began operations on January 1, 1894.

The highest appointment at the time was that of Director General, and until 1899 he and two deputies formed the Board of Management. The Statute ratified by decree of 18 June 1899 abolished the Board and eliminated one post of Deputy Director General.

The Directorate was instituted with the reform of the Statute, ratified by Decree 1404 of 21 June 1928, which created the post of Governor and, below that, the posts of Director General and Deputy Director General. In 1969 the second post of Deputy Director General was re-instituted. Law 262 of 28 December 2005 containing "Provisions for the protection of savings and the regulation of financial markets" established the Directorate as a collegial body consisting of the Governor, the Director General and the Deputy Directors General.

List of Governors

List of Directors General

The Directorate (Governing Board)

The Governor's Concluding Remarks from 1960 to 1981

Related Topics

Directorate (Governing Board)

The Directorate (Governing Board) is a collegial body, subject to Articles 21, 22 and 23 of the Statute, that is made up of the Governor, the Senior Deputy Governor and the three Deputy Governors and authorized to adopt measures of external significance regarding the exercise of the public functions entrusted by law to the Bank in pursuit of its aims, other than decisions falling under the authority of the ESCB.