Croatia in the euro area from 1 January 2023

As of 1 January, 2023, Croatia will become the 20th member of the euro area. On 12 July 2022, the Council of the European Union approved the accession of Croatia to the euro area and set the conversion rate for the Croatian kuna (HRK 7.53450 per €1). 

Both euro and kuna (banknotes and coins) will be allowed as means of payment for a two-week period following the introduction of the euro. As of 15 January 2023 euro banknotes and coins become sole legal tender. Prices for goods and services will be posted in both euro and kuna until 31 December 2023.

The Bank of Italy will exchange kuna banknotes, free of charge, for the general public at the fixed conversion exchange rate (HRK 7.53450 per €1) from 1 January to 28 February 2023 at its branches in Ancona, Milan, Rome, Trieste and Venice up to the amount of HRK 8,000 (ca. € 1,000) per party/transaction in any one day.

Institutional intermediaries with an account with the Bank of Italy will be able to exchange of kuna banknotes only at the Rome CDM (Centro Donato Menichella) branch.