She is married and has four children and a golden retriever.

She has a degree in Political and Social Sciences from the Luiss Guido Carli University of Rome.

She joined the Bank of Italy in 1988 and worked in the Press Office until 1997. During those years, she followed the work of the members of the Governing Board leading to economic and monetary union, especially the European Monetary Institute (EMI).

In 1998, she joined the Bank’s managerial career stream and was assigned to the Brussels Delegation as Deputy Head, where she stayed until 2000. She was in charge of communications for strengthening international cooperation, as part of the process for enlarging the European Union and the transition from the EMI to the European Central Bank (ECB).

In 2001, she returned to the Bank’s head office in Rome and was appointed Head of the Press and External Relations Division where, among other things, she coordinated, in liaison with the ECB, the national communication and information campaign for the changeover to the euro.

From 2006 to 2011, she was in charge of communication for the Chair of the Financial Stability Board (previously the Financial Stability Forum) and was responsible for liaising with the international press at the G7, G8 and G20 Summits of the Heads of State and of Government.

In 2013, she was put in charge of the Bank’s communications and she was Deputy Head of the Secretariat to the Governing Board and Communications from 2014 to 2020. She dealt with the strategic planning of communications, and managed relations with the media at major international financial events (meetings of the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank, World Economic Forum in Davos, and G7, G8 and G20 meetings of finance ministers and central bank governors). She has held a number of positions within the European System of Central Banks: namely, she has been a member of the Eurosystem/ESCB External Communications Committee since 2011 and has represented the Bank of Italy on the Single Supervisory Mechanism External Communications Committee since 2014.

She has been Head of the new Communications Directorate since 27 July 2020.