



Call for papers

1st Biennial Bank of Italy and Bocconi University conference on 'Financial stability and Regulation'

Rome, April 5-6, 2018

The Bank of Italy and Bocconi University – BAFFI CAREFIN are organizing the first biennial conference on 'Financial stability and Regulation'. The event will take place on April 5-6, 2018 at the headquarters of the Bank of Italy in Rome.

The aim of the conference is to bring together leading world scholars and policy-makers in order to discuss topics related to financial stability, financial sector regulation and the use of macroprudential policies.

Itay Goldstein (Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania) and Atif Mian (Princeton University) have kindly agreed to deliver the keynote lectures.

We welcome theoretical and empirical contributions on topics including, but not limited to:

- coordination of macroprudential and monetary policy
- macro-finance models of linkages between the real and financial sectors
- interaction between micro and macroprudential policies
- systemic risk measurement
- assessment and calibration of macroprudential policies
- spillovers from bank regulation to the shadow banking system
- interaction between liquidity, capital and bail-inable debt requirements
- optimal design and the real effects of bank interventions
- political economy of supervision in a banking union
- modelling techniques for stress tests and their use for policy purposes
- stability challenges owing to financial innovation and the development of market financing.

Papers should be submitted in PDF format to <u>financialstabilityconference@bancaditalia.it</u>. The deadline for submission is **December 1, 2017**. The authors of accepted papers will be notified by January 31, 2018. The conference organizers will cover travel and accommodation expenses for presenters from academic institutions.

The members of the conference's Scientific Committee are: Giovanni Dell'Ariccia, Robert DeYoung, Nicola Gennaioli, Steven Ongena, Guillermo Ordoñez, Marco Pagano, Christine Parlour, José-Luis Peydró, Manju Puri, Rafael Repullo, Jean Charles Rochet and Paola Sapienza.

The members of the Local Organizing Committee are: Elena Carletti, Filippo De Marco, Giorgio Gobbi and Anatoli Segura.